Hello, LaTeX!

acv,mathmeta

This year I've working on gaining a deeper understanding of AI and ML tools. To do this I've been studying a lot of math, specifically vector spaces (opens in a new tab). As I've been getting increasingly excited about the progress I'm making, I figured some blog posts were in my future. This seemed like a good enough reason to go on a side quest to set up equation rendering.

Fortunately, the blogging framework I'm using right now, Nextra (opens in a new tab), comes with LaTeX\LaTeX (nice) support built in. After migrating some configuration files, I was able get it set up and wanted to do a "little hello" world post with some equations!

So, as a proof-of-concept, here is the definition a subspace, of a core concept I've been studying in Sheldon Axler's text Linear Algebra Done Right (opens in a new tab).

Subspaces

For a vector space VV over a field FF (nominally either R\mathbb{R} the real numbers or C\mathbb{C} the complex numbers), the subset UVU \subseteq V is said to be a subspace of V if and only if (\Leftrightarrow) the following 3 conditions are met:

Update 2023-06-25: Fixed the definition of a subspace to include the trivial case U=VU = V i.e. UVU \subseteq V instead of UVU \subset V. Thanks Dad :)

This work by Alex C. Viana is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4