SQLite and DuckDB

I recently came across a great blog post (opens in a new tab) by Simon Willison (creator of Datasette (opens in a new tab)) digging into a recent academic paper comparing OLAP workloads on SQLite against DuckDB.

DuckDB (opens in a new tab) is a newer file-based database that's generating a lot of buzz and is nicknamed "the SQLite for analytics".

If you're into that sort of thing you should check out the original paper (opens in a new tab). It's pretty readible and gives an overview of SQLite's history, architecture, OLAP benchmarks, bottlenecks, and potential optimizations.

I love this type of well-organized reserach and I feel like I've learned a lot more about my favorite database even though I'm only 1/3 of the way through the paper.

Thanks for reading and please enjoy this wonderful Georgia O'Keeffe's painting (opens in a new tab) that has moved me tears before.

This work by Alex C. Viana is licensed under CC BY-NC-SA 4